One of my New Year’s resolutions is to start helping Huz cook more. Since he’s a student, his time is more flexible than mine, but I need to start contributing more to this area of domesticity. So, I got all organized and put a magnetic calendar/white board on our fridge where we write down our weekly menus (pictured is the little one I replaced). I cook twice a week and he cooks three times a week.

DSC_0004

Last week’s menu looks something like this.

Huz made:

Lentil Soup with Spicy Italian Sausage which was really flavorful and comforting on a winter’s night.

Poblano Albondigas with Ancho Chile Soup which, besides being super fun to say (albondigas! albondigas!) was a tad disappointing. We’ll blame the crappy Kroger poblano peppers for the lack of depth in the soup. Worth trying again, but needs some hotter peppers and something to provide depth.

I made:

Tangerine-Salted Turkey with Redeye Gravy. You read that right. I all up and roasted a turkey, y’all. And it’s not even Thanksgiving. There are few times when I take a bite of something I made and think – damn girl, you can cook! – but this was one of those times. The redeye gravy was amazing – full of rich flavor – and the turkey meat was super moist.

DSC_0037

DSC_0040

We shared the meal with friends of ours who just had a baby and then made turkey BBQ sandwiches with the leftovers.

Butternut Squash and Cheddar Bread Pudding was a good, cheesy vegetarian meal that we enjoyed with some tomato soup.

Tonight I’m making Tilapia and yams with crispy skins and brown-butter vinaigrette and on Tuesday Huz is making Lamb Kofte with Yogurt and Muhammara.

I was recently told by a co-worker, when sharing our weekly menus with each other, that Huz and I eat “fancy” food. Do you think that’s true? Our food has fancy words (albondigas and kofte = meatballs), but we’re not making foie gras or anything. Her menu consisted of tuna casserole, ravioli, and hot dogs so we obviously eat in different culinary universes, but I don’t consider our diet “fancy.” Where are you on the fancy food scale?

