Mothers Day 2009

I’m learning to be grateful for the quiet, sweet moments and I hold my breath through the loud, screamy ones. Claire is experiencing the Mighty Will of Her Own, otherwise known as the Terrible Two’s at the age of one and a half. I had a good mothers day, but it was punctuated with three, count them, three temper tantrums. Huz caught one on video that I must post, but later. These tantrms are exhausting. My hope is that she’ll get through this period soon and her sweet self will re-emerge at the end.

We went out for breakfast and then to the park. As you can see, I decided to dress Claire up for the occassion.

claire

claire2

I got this sweet little chair for a steal and Toys R Us the other day. It was the only one in the store and all the crappy plastic ones next to it were marked $7.99, so I got it for the same price (even though it’s metal and wicker).

3

Big girl reading.

DSC_0142

Asking Mommy to read to her.

DSC_0136

Here she is playing with Daddy last week.

DSC_0110

DSC_0116

DSC_0114

During naptime on Mothers Day, I got inspired to redecorate Claire’s room and painted an owl.

DSC_0173

More to come on that later…

Sweet Claire, I love you more than life itself. You make me smile and laugh so hard, you give new meaning to life, and you make me love your Daddy more than I ever have before. Even if you throw fits right now, I will try to remember that this is a difficult stage for you emotionally and that you aren’t being bad on purpose. You remain my sun, moon and stars. Love you, baby girl.

DSC_0147

Huz made me some phenomenol Memphis-style dry rub ribs. Amazing. I joked with him about the gender reversal and how I guess I’ll be making him tea and crumpets for Fathers Day. 🙂

DSC_0178

DSC_0183

Huz, I love you and am so grateful for your partnership in this crazy thing called parenting. I honestly could not do it without you.

DSC_0186

