I have a huge aversion to all things sewing (I applaud Jen and my Fodder Friend for taking sewing classes – I’ve never had the guts), but that doesn’t stop me from wishing I knew how. I bought a quilting book a few years ago

quilt book

and drooled over each page, then placed in on the bookshelf, untouched, for about a year before I sold it. I can sew a button back on a shirt and I taught myself how to knit, but I’m completely clueless when it comes to using a sewing machine or, God forbid, understanding and following a pattern. But I want to learn! Because I’ve just fallen in love with some fabric

zoo
pears
dots
1168822865

and want to be able to make Claire bibs and dresses that are CUTE to the UTMOST. I don’t want to have spend big bucks to pay someone else to do something so seemingly simple, plus, I get great satisfaction out of making my own things (photography, handmade soaps, ceramics, jewelry, etc.). I fantasize about making my own vintage apron and waltzing around the house in heels and a pearl necklace.

Whoa, where did that come from!?

Any suggestions for a needle and thread retard?

